Introductions continued…

by Lauren W

Well it appears that no matter how fabulous the group of girls is, trying to get said group of girls to answer a questionnaire and submit an approved photo is more challenging than one might think.

So without further delay, here are some more of the BFC girls… 

Julia 

What is one thing people are usually surprised to find out about you?

 – I’m 25. I look remarkably young for my age. Also, that I’m NOT a supermodel.

When you were young what did you want to be when you grew up?

 – Fact: I wanted to be a Veterinarian up until I was 15 and realized you had to go to post-secondary for, like, 7 years. 

What do you currently want to be when you grow up?

 – So many things, but mostly inspired. Life is so much more exciting when you are able to find inspiration everywhere you look.

Describe your personal style

 – L.A. meets housewife/stay-at-home-mom meets folk artist hippie meets Rihanna and Beyonce’s love child, just really laid back with a dose of high-strung aging socialite. 

What do you create?

 – Cards! Amazing funny little cards. I started my line of different greeting cards in September 2010 using potatoes and paint, hence the “clever” name Potato Stamp Cards.  
 
What was the best vacation you’ve ever been on?
-It wasn’t really a vacation, more of a getaway. I went up to Powell River for a few days with my guy and we stayed in a crappy little motel and played pool at a crappy bar and spent an amazing day lounging on “eagle beach” (we called it that because there were like 10 eagles feeding on some salmon carcasses.) We also raced along the water to see who was faster.
 
If you had to be ‘trapped’ in a TV show for one month, which show would you choose?
 – Sons of Anarchy, I want to be somebody’s “old lady”, especially if that somebody is Charlie Hunnam.
 
What is your favourite season?
-Fall, I like wearing big sweaters and going for walks.
 
What time period would you most like to visit?
 – The 1920’s. Jazz, short hair, drop waists, the Harlem Renaissance, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Hemingway, surrealism, Lenin, Stalin, communism, Chaplin and Keaton, Einstein, the sultan of swat, the king of crash, the colossus of clout, the colossus of clout, BABE RUTH! THE GREAT BAMBINO!
 
Where did you grow up?
-The GTA (Greater Toronto Area). Mostly in Pickering, ON though. But I’ve been in BC for almost 8 years, and I feel like I’ve done a lot of “growing up” in the past 8 years.
 

Katrina

What is one thing people are usually surprised to find out about you?

 – That I’m a bad TV junkie… seriously I love it.

What do you do to relax?

 – Drink tea, knit, read a book… or watch bad TV of course.

What was the last book you read or are currently reading?

 – I just read the “Fall of Giants”  by Ken Follett which is about WWI, I am a bit of a historical novel nerd. It was really good but it was part of a trilogy and I now have wait for the next two books to come out before I find out the end of the story 😦

What was the best advice you were ever given? 

 – “Don’t let the bastards get you down”

When you were young what did you want to be when you grew up?

 – Again, I am a big book nerd I wanted to be a librarian when I was a kid. 

What do you currently want to be when you grow up?

 – Happy 🙂

Dana 

What is one thing people are usually surprised to find out about you?
 – People are usually surprised to learn what an excellent hula-hooper I am. One arena where my pear-shape comes in handy!  I took a hooping dance class last summer, and now I’ve been inspired to learn all sorts of tricks. But seriously, if you haven’t tried it, hooping with a slightly weighted hoop to a great playlist is the most entertaining form of solo exercise I’ve discovered as of yet!
 
What do you do to relax?
 – My favorite way to relax after a tough day is to sit back with a tea, a London fog preferably, and listen to “The Bear Necessities”, even as an adult the lyrics just sort of keep things in perspective.
  
What was the last book you read, or are currently reading?
 – My most recent recommended read was “The Guernsey Potato Peel Pie and Literary Society”, a fictional story entirely written in letters and based in post-war London. It was romantic and elegantly written, and the format made it a very light read for days when I just wanted to escape into a book.
 
What is your biggest regret?
 – Years ago I painted my bedroom mint green, and have yet to get around
to repainting. I cringe at those walls every day!

What is your favorite season?
 – I love the summertime. Perhaps I’m a bit biased because I have a July
birthday; however, I love going out for gelato, warm evening strolls
and living in nothing but dresses! The only thing Vancouver summers
are missing is shave-ice, and if anyone knows where I can get some I’d
be so grateful! 

Do you collect anything interesting?
 – I have far too many interesting collections including: paper dolls,
vintage glass buttons and French travel books by Raymond Peynet.

 

Kaleigh

What is one thing people are usually surprised to find out about you?
 – Pretty much everything! But usually that cooking is my passion outside my studies – when I’m done my degree this summer, I’m planning on chef school!

What was the last book you read or are currently reading?
 – I always have lots on the go – one of the benefits of pursuing a completely impractical English degree is that your textbooks are often gems of novels or interesting books you would never encounter otherwise. I’m imagining myself in Russia right now while reading Petersburg by Andrei Bely. So dark and opulent, my favourite!

Describe your perfect Sunday
 – Best day. Wake up, laze around until I can get myself to brunch with the friends to laugh about last night’s party and apply mimosas to our hangovers, laze around some more and either stay like that for the night or get ready for the next party!

 What is your personal motto or words you live by?
 – Postel’s Law: Be conservative in what you do, be liberal in what you accept from others. It’s actually internet inspired – principle of robustness! But it works for people too, be open and think about your actions.

 If there were to be a movie of your life, who would you choose to play you?
 – Sienna Miller, but just so we could end up being brunch-worthy friends!

 What words of wisdom would you pass on to your daughter?
 – True joy comes from living with a generous heart.

